In which we’re ready for the deep end

I spent some time scrolling through my blog recently, looking at things I wrote once upon a time, and remembering so many moments in time that I captured here. I was stunned when I came across this blog post from 2009 about Samantha and Erica’s first round of swimming lessons. I even had incredibly cute pictures of the girls’ first jumps off of the diving board in the deep end. It made me smile, looking at 3 year old Erica’s jump.

Erica, 3, contemplating that first jump

Erica, 3, contemplating that first jump


In she goes!

In she goes!

Why, do you ask? Because I am still filled with this amazing sense of wonder watching my girl dive, more than five years later. At eight, Erica dives on a squad, competing as a novice here in England. She can already do these amazing things that are little more than words to me (pike fall, tuck jump, straight jump, back tuck roll), all off of the poolside, the 1M, the 3M, and occasionally the 5M. She’s incredible. It’s easy to forget how far she’s come in just 7 short months–easier to see when you realize the change in 5 years.

Preparing for her first poolside dive

Preparing for her first poolside dive


Erica, 8, Diving at the Tynemouth Trophy

Erica, 8, Diving at the Tynemouth Trophy


Her favorite dive!

Her favorite dive!

But looking back at her first jump off of the diving board in 2009 really brings it all home for me. She still makes the face, with her hand in the mouth, when she contemplates a new challenge, working her way through it, deciding how to proceed. It’s funny what we forget with time.

I’m so proud of my amazing, talented girl. I was when she was three, and I am today.

One thought on “In which we’re ready for the deep end

Leave a Reply

