The Connection

At first, I didn’t see the connection between what I do as a writer and what I do when I’m designing knitting patterns.

In fact, the two are substantially more similar than they are different.

When I write, I tell a story.  I like to think that’s what I’m doing when I put together a knitting pattern.  I tell the knitters what inspired the piece, what I like about it, and what they can find inside.  Then, I take care to write the pattern clearly.  Enough detail, without extraneous detail.  Sometimes I include pictures, to show as well as tell.  I do this when I write, too–try to paint pictures and show, instead of always telling.

My patterns and writing are edited for content and clarity.  I strive to have everything with my name on it as accurate and clear as I can.  I take it to heart when there are errors I missed–everything out there with my name on it is a piece of who I am.

It’s funny, this connection that I almost didn’t see.

Leave a Reply

