In which we talk “fashion sense”

Right after we moved to England, I remember getting quite a few stares walking down the streets with the girls.  Not because we were Americans…but because of Samantha and her fashion sense.

Samantha had this crazy sense of style that she came into the minute we landed over the pond and she turned two.  She wanted to pick her own clothes.  She had this idea of what went together and what matched, and there was no arguing with her.  I tried…trust me, I tried.  And one day, I just gave up.  I stopped fighting (we were battling over so much already, and I was worn out).  I let her pick her own clothes.

She wore this to school one day.  I checked the date…it was March, so it wasn’t for Halloween or fancy dress.

I thought I’d be so happy when she grew out of this stage.

But I was wrong.  Suddenly, Samantha is heading to kindergarten in jeans and a long sleeved shirt.  Maybe she’ll throw a sweater on top that doesn’t match, or wear some wild socks.  But she is wearing relatively tame (by comparison) clothes.

And I miss her wild and crazy fashion sense.

If there’s anyone that can pull it off, it’s her.

3 thoughts on “In which we talk “fashion sense”

  1. That first picture… the first thought was, “fighting cavities.” Like the trident commercials. Good for her to really start coming into her own fashion sense 🙂

  2. I would like to purchase the pattern for “in threes: baby cardigan” but I do not have a PayPal account. Are there options for payment???

  3. I was just looking at your effortless cardigan on ravelry. It’s beautiful. I’ve been thinking about making that for awhile, but I haven’t been sure how it would look on me. Anyway, yours is so pretty on you. I wanted to come check out your blog, and I love your post about your daughter’s fashion sense. The picture of her in the pink is so precious!

Leave a Reply

