Tried and Tested

As much as I love knitting, and absolutely love when I come up with a design idea, and even love getting it just right and writing the pattern down, I hate the test knitting stage.

This is in no way a slight to test knitters (if you are reading this!).  I love test knitters.  They are a fabulous breed–willing to try something they’ve never tried before, to offer feedback and honesty, and to risk ending up with something completely unwearable (gosh I hope not).

But from the first minute that I send that email out with the pattern, I get nervous.  And every time I get an email from one of them with an error or problem, I feel anxious.  I feel bad that I’ve let them down.  Embarrassed that I made a mistake.  Worried that they’ll never want to knit anything of mine again.  Terrible for being a failure.

I know, I know.  Telling someone to cast on 50 stitches instead of 56 hardly makes me a a failure.  But sometimes, it feels that way.

Ahh…the quest for (ever elusive) perfection.  I guess we’re still in our testing stages, too.

2 thoughts on “Tried and Tested

  1. As someone who has been a test knitter for you I can say I’d happily do it again. I’ve liked all your patterns to date, and even though I’ve only knitted one of them, the finished product was great and the recipients parents loved it. At least you are bothering with checking, rechecking and test knitting your pattern. I’ve seen so many with uncorrected mistakes. So don’t feel bad…and I only saw one teeny mistake in the test knit I did, so you are doing an incredible job with your patterns 🙂

  2. pshhhhh. I am in AWE of your pattern writing skills. If I could get someone to get in my head and write down my ideas I would love it. YOU have a talent very few people have.

Leave a Reply

