Knitting Woes

One of the things that I miss the most about England is the knitting.

Yes, we have wool here in America.  There are knitting shops, knitting groups, and knitters.

But in England, I surrounded myself with the knitterly–knitting friends who became my family (and their family became my family), time to knit over coffee, knit nights, outings to knit shops, knit talk…and I was there when our group was founded, so there was room for me.

I’ve tried two knitting groups since returning home, and everyone has been so accommodating–I’ve met wonderful women.  But they were friends before I arrived.  And they meet during the days, and my daytime knitting time is severely limited.

And so, I haven’t been knitting as much as I would like.  And you know what’s funny?  I can feel it taking its toll on me.  The less knitting I do, the less of myself that I feel like.

Of course, there is some knitting, some designing, and some finished products…

But there’s still something missing.

A friend recently asked me to teach her to knit, though.  We’ve been working in the evenings, and that’s been sort of exciting.  Maybe we’ll get our own little knit night going.

I wonder if Anne, the Sues, Samantha, Tina, Jess, and the rest of the Harrogate Knitters could make it…

3 thoughts on “Knitting Woes

  1. I had such a different experience over in London, England. I found the people were not very friendly, even the knitters. It wasn’t until I ran into another American knitter that I was able to sit and chat comfortably.

    And really I don’t know how you have any time to knit. I only have 1 child to take care of. You have 3 little girls. Amazing.

Leave a Reply

