Touch Wood

Touch wood, nursing is going much better.  I still experience some pain between feedings, especially when I am cold (vasospasm?).  But I am pain free while nursing about 80% of the time, which is a huge improvement.  Every day is getting a bit better as Jessica gets older and we work together on our breastfeeding relationship.  I’m so glad that I’ve stuck it out and have made it through the first month!

In addition, Jess is such a good sleeper so far.  Not only a good sleeper, but a pretty happy baby, all around.  She naps well, in her pack n play, bassinet, bouncy seat, car seat, and with mommy and daddy holding her.  She has just started taking a pacifier and can even fall asleep on her own with that in her mouth while in her bassinet.  When she is awake, she usually only cries when she’s hungry or her diaper is dirty/wet.  Otherwise, she is so alert and wants to see what’s going on with her big sisters and in our busy household!

Overall, the transition from two to three kids has gone smoother than the transition from one to two went.  Maybe it’s because Marcus was home for longer and then transitioned back to work gradually.  Maybe it’s because other than the breastfeeding, I’m feeling pretty confident and together.  Maybe it’s because we’re used to less sleep and the selflessness that comes with parenting.

Whatever the reason, things are going well.  Touch wood.

3 thoughts on “Touch Wood

  1. Pingback: Touch Wood »Coolweather

  2. I’m glad the breastfeeding is going better. I had just finished reading your previous post on breastfeeding when I started reading this.
    It took me about two months to really get used to breastfeeding. When that 3 month came around it seemed to be a piece of cake, and then I was finally in that “don’t need to give it much thought” ( : stage, I could just pull them out for baby and feed her. Audrey is now 18 months and still breastfeeding.

    You are doing such a great job. Congrats!

  3. I’ve been following you on twitter. Thought I take a look at your site. You have struck a chord with me. I currently pregnant with my 3rd! I have two girls and am expecting a boy.

    I had so much trouble breastfeeding my 1st but it was super easy with the 2nd. I hope that continues with my 3rd.

    I understand how hard it can be! I’m very happy that it’s been easy otherwise. I am nervous about having a 3rd as a WAHM.

    I will continue to follow!
    Cheers,
    Lorin
    http://www.epmassociation.org
    http://www.thelegalappeal.com

Leave a Reply

