The Plunge

This week I, officially, took the plunge.  I wrote a query letter, and mailed the first 20 pages of Scattered to an agent in Arizona.

I am armed with the facts.  Rejections, especially in the early stages, are likely and may be numerous.  I may not hear back from everyone.  It can be a tedious and discouraging process.  I will hear the word “no” plenty of times before I hear the word “yes.”   I cannot take it personally.  I may get a lot of negative feedback, if I get any at all.

And still, I find myself excited at taking this next step.  I have written a novel, and now I am actively working to get it published.  It’s an awesome accomplishment.  How many people say, “I’m going to write a book!”?  But how many actually do it?

So, it begins.  Wish me luck!

5 thoughts on “The Plunge

  1. Congrats! That is very exciting, and I am very happy for you! Remember that every rejection, and every query is just another step closer to your book being on the shelf.

    Frank Herbert, the author of DUNE, was rejected 23 times before DUNE became published.

    Thank you for sharing!

  2. You are my hero! A real inspiration–no kidding. I hope I’ll have the same guts to follow through when my time comes. I hope the very best for you. Keep us posted!!

Leave a Reply

