Frenzy

I feel like we’ve been experiencing a bit of a frenzy here.

It started with the realization that I was dying to read a good book. Since then, I’ve devoured three (Sarah’s Key, Woman in the Fifth, and Shopgirl) with a third and a fourth underway (The Six Wives of Henry VIII and The Shack).

Then, I had a friend read my own novel, Scattered. She really liked it, and though we haven’t talked about the details in depth, just that was enough to light a fire under me and get me writing again. I’m almost halfway through a final edit/proofread, and am really pleased with the corrections I’m making. In addition, after a conversation with a writer friend, I researched agents who may be interested in a novel such as mine, and wrote my first query letter. It required me to write a one sentence hook that could sum up the book and catch a reader, an agent, and a publisher’s attention, as well as a short, one paragraph summary of the entire novel. It was work…but I did it. And if I do say so myself, if I saw that hook on the back of a book, I would grab it off the shelves and read it. Of course, I’m biased…

The unpacking and organizing is almost complete, and I’d venture an estimate that we’re 95% unpacked and situated. Pretty impressive for ten days work, don’t you think?

I’ve also signed up to start my own direct sales business, selling lia sophia jewelry. It’s affordable, fashion-forward jewelry, and I love it. The pieces are beautiful, the rewards for hostesses are incredible, and for me as an advisor, there’s limitless earning potential. I’m excited to be working on this part time. It will get me out of the house and socializing in a new area, and will help ease our budget woes just a bit.

So, a frenzy, to be sure. Add in my pregnancy (almost 17 weeks now, and all is going along swimmingly), two small kids, and a husband who’s been home with us non-stop since June 30th (which can be a blessing and a curse), and it’s a miracle we’re so on top of it all.

Here’s hoping your own summer isn’t quite so frenzied…

Leave a Reply

