Whatcha Readin?

Blech…I’m going to ignore how upset it makes me that my headline isn’t grammatically correct, and remind myself that I’m going for a “feeling” with it.

I have pretty much fallen of of the reading track since moving home. I purchased The Secret Scripture in the airport for the flight back to the states, which I forced myself to finish after returning (and I liked, though I’d suggest you wait until it’s out in paperback in the states; it was originally released in the UK, so I got a paperback copy for GBP 4). But other than that, I haven’t read anything.

So yesterday I realized how much I miss book club and the reading and discussion that goes along with it, so I ordered a couple of books off of amazon. The biography of Henry the VIII by Alison Weir (which I’ve been dying to read for the three years I was overseas–Philippa Gregory uses her a lot for her historical fiction) and then just something that had a decent description online (Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosney).

In the meantime, I’m grabbing Marcus’ copy of The Shack when he’s not looking, because it looks like it is right up my alley. I’ve only read the first chapter so far, but my initial thoughts are that it’s a good choice for me (and it has some similarities to my own novel…yeah…that novel thing…well, that’s another post).

So, whatcha readin? I need suggestions (and a book club, so if you have one in the Annapolis area, let me know!).

3 thoughts on “Whatcha Readin?

  1. In reverse chrono order I have read:

    Twilight (currently reading)
    Rule of Four (sort of Da Vinci Code)
    A book about Nigeria, one woman’s escape from, and the family she meets (sorry, can’t remember the name).
    Trainspotting
    Captain Corelli’s Mandolin
    To Kill a Mockingbird
    Schindlers Ark

    So I’ve overdone racism, the second world war and drugs. Hence Twilight and being immersed in teenage angst. Its nice to be reading about a world which has teenage angst.

  2. Just finished Grisham’s “The Appeal” and now I’m reading “Judge & Jury” by James Patterson. On deck are “The Collectors” by David Baldacci and a Tami Hoag novel whose name escapes me right now.

  3. I’m all about a Virginia Andrew’s book at the moment, such light trashy reading, then I’m onto our book club book (Sorry Kelly) Behind the Scenes at A Museum _ Kate Atkinson, then Three Muskateers. I have so much on my to read list it’s stupid, not sure I have enough hours in the day to read more than a book a month but I’m trying!!!

Leave a Reply

