The Power of Handknits

I wonder if people who don’t knit, or those who have never been knitted for, can truly appreciate the power of a handknit item.

Power, they might wonder?  What power is there in something handmade?  It’s just knitting, after all.

Oh, there’s power, alright.

When this arrived in the mail from my best friend Anne last week, the powerful part was that, with an ocean between us, I could picture her sitting on the couch knitting it in our last weeks together.  There was power in the fact that when I put it on, I could practically smell her living room in her house in England, where I’ve knit thousands of stitches with my best friend.  There is power in the fact that when I put it on, I feel closer to her.  And since I miss her so much, that’s a pretty awesome feat.

The Tilted Duster, from Anne

The Tilted Duster, from Anne

The power is also present in the fact that my mother can’t keep her darned hands off the thing…having developed a love for all things handknit, but no desire to knit them herself, she has resorted to thievery.

Mom in MY Tilted Duster

Mom in MY Tilted Duster

I tell you…those handknits are powerful.

3 thoughts on “The Power of Handknits

  1. I really hope the smell in my living room is a good thing! You look gorgeous, I’m so pleased I sent it over to you 🙂

  2. The tilted duster is perfect on you and will continue to warm you as your pregnancy progresses. What a wonderful gift from Anne!

Leave a Reply

