I’m Not Ready.

Today, a close friend gave me a going away present.  She said that she knew it was early, but was too excited to give the gift to me.

They are beautiful labels for me to sew into my knitting garments, letting everyone know that I’ve knitted them!

They were a wonderful…thoughtful…perfect gift.

And yet, I don’t feel ready for them.

I’m incredibly excited to move home.  I want to move into our brand new house, and make it a home with Marcus and the girls.  I want to decide to pop over to my sister’s house one afternoon, for no reason at all other than to see her.  I want to be there when my nieces and nephews are born, be there when my sisters get married, be there to see my mom for random dinners,  and to surprise my father by meeting him with the girls for lunch.

But it is going to be so hard to leave this place, that has been our home for almost three years.  We love the town, the area, the walks, the history, the way the sun shines on Yorkshire (when it does shine).  I am so close now to my church family here, and wonder whether I will find that again at a Catholic Church in the states.  I’ve met such wonderful friends through knitting, and wonder if already established knitting groups in the states will ever feel “right” after hours spent knitting with Anne, the Sues, and the rest of the women I’ve met here.

I’m so ready, and so not ready, at the same time.

4 thoughts on “I’m Not Ready.

  1. I’m certainly not ready for you to go yet. Although I am planning to have time out so I can help us both get ready for your departure!

  2. Kelly, I’m so sorry! I didn’t mean to make you feel sad about leaving, I just was so excited that they arrived. I don’t think any of us are ready for you to go. So lets call them a ‘thanks for being you’ gift instead.

  3. As much as I want to just say, come home and don’t worry about all that other stuff I can’t. Harrogate has become your home over the last 3 years and I can only imagine how hard it will be to leave. So the best advice I can give you is this. Try not to dwell on leaving until the time comes. Enjoy the time you have left with family and friends there. It was a once and a lifetime opportunity that most people don’t get the chance to have. It was the hardest thing I’ve ever had to experience, because I want you hear of course. But I have seen you make Harrogate your home. Embrace it while you still have it. Love you

Leave a Reply

