Separation of Church and State

Sometimes, I’m happy that we are spending the girls’ preschool and nursery school years in the UK, where they don’t have the separation that is so doted on in the United States. Now, before anyone rails at me and reminds me of religious persecution and why we have the separation of church and state in America, realize that I’m talking about it because of this:

Kicka is the sheep in the back left, Sam is all the way on the right

Kicka is the sheep in the back left, Sam is all the way on the right

I mean, really, there is something to be said for a real Christmas nativity play. The fact that we don’t have to tiptoe around the reason that we have this beautiful (eta: spiritual) season. The fact that my children acted out the birth of Christ, and were able to talk about him in school.

My Angel

My Angel

Something to be said for recognizing that the majority of people (at least in the UK, and in America) do celebrate Christmas, and yet it’s the most taboo of the holidays to talk about in public school. Yet many schools highlight other holidays, faiths, and religions in the interest of education and diversity, but ignore the majority, which could be taught as educational, too.

Baah!

Baah!

If you don’t agree, I don’t mind. As long as you agree that this is the cutest angel and the cutest sheep you’ve ever seen, we’re still on the same page.

9 thoughts on “Separation of Church and State

  1. “I mean, really, there is something to be said for a real Christmas nativity play.”

    They have Sunday School in America. That’s what it’s for.

    “The fact that we don’t have to tiptoe around the reason that we have this beautiful season.”

    You mean the fact that it’s winter?

    “yet it’s the most taboo of the holidays to talk about in public school.”

    Because it’s so easy to go from talking about it to promoting it. It doesn’t happen with other religions as often because most teachers (like most of the American population) are Christian, so if they talk about Judaism they won’t accidentally start promoting it.

    And yes, the kids are absolutely adorable. 🙂

    • I hear what you are saying. I do. I guess I’m just reminded of when the school I taught at had a winter performance, and they sang songs from every winter celebration under the sun except for Christmas. As a Christian parent, I find that really sad and frustrating.

      But I do agree–that’s why there is religious education. I guess I just like that in a preschool setting here in the UK, the kids can still experience that.

  2. I’ve been feeling the same gratitude this week – our kids’ nativity play and carol service was Tuesday evening. They go to a CofE school, and I’m very happy about that…

  3. You are right… cutest angel & cutest sheep. I taught an RE class today. We have been studying religious festivals all term & today the year 7’s made a movie on the computer about why & how christmas is celebrated. It mirrors their work on Diwali & Hannukha & I think its how it should be. When Callum was at Primary School he took part in nativity plays -mind you they were CofE primary schools but I think most UK primary schools still do nativity plays. One year I had a Sikh girl playing Mary in a Year 7 Nativity play! Sorry you cant make knit night… have an awesome time in the States!

  4. I hear you about teaching the different celebrations as a part of learning different cultures and diversity. But honestly, they don’t even teach Hanukkah the way I would like them to so I almost wish they wouldn’t teach any of it! LOL! I think your daughters are absolutely precious. 😀

  5. I have a post up today about James Madison’s views about the separation of church and state that you might enjoy.

Leave a Reply

