Finding Time to Blog

I have often had people ask me how I make time to blog, to knit, to write, and all of the other things that fill up my stay-at-home-mom days.  Thankfully, my girls go to nursery 2 1/2 days a week, so that gives me time to keep the house in (some) order and to do the web writing and editing of my novel.

But the other stuff…well, I make time.  I knit while we’re watching a television show, while the girls are eating lunch, and while we’re sitting in the car between activities.  I find the time, because I love it.  Most of my knitting happens after the girls are in bed at night, because I find it so easy to do while watching a movie with Marcus or while he plays video games.  But I make time for it during my day because it keeps me sane.

As for blogging, I make time for that too.  I usually like to blog while the girls are at school (like now) or when we just wake up in the morning.  The girls wake up, eat breakfast, and watch a show or two, and I’ll catch up on emails, the news, and blog if I have something blog-worthy to say (and sometimes, even if I don’t).

I might get interrupted, and have to leave the blog alone and return, but typically, I can whip one out fairly quickly if I’m so inclined.

Yesterday morning, however, I laughed out loud and knew you’d appreciate what truly goes on in my house while I’m blogging.

I heard Kicka go into the kitchen.  I heard her riffling in the bread bag and getting a piece.

And then…nothing.

I finished writing, ears poised to hear and intervene in whatever trouble she might get herself into, but heard nothing.

And then, in she walked.

Proud Kicka, after buttering her own bread!

Proud Kicka, after buttering her own bread!

Yes, that’s bread in her hand.  And those globs all over it?  Butter.  That little stinker got the butter and butter knife (which I’d left on the counter…bad mommy!) and buttered herself a slice of bread.  Bless her, she was so darned proud of herself!

I make time for blogging, knitting, writing, and all the other things that make me who I am.  But my girls…they just are.

4 thoughts on “Finding Time to Blog

  1. So proud of herself!!!

    I’m the same way about blogging…I make time for it because it’s part of me, because it became my therapy when my divorce began and because it connects me to so many awesome people.

  2. I often tell you how much I think you have a little Kelly and Kiki on your hands, and your Erica story only goes to prove it. When Kiki was a little tyke, I remember one morning waking up and finding her standing next to my bed with an opened stick of butter in her hands. No bread…just butter. And believe it or not, she was eating it. I took it away from her, walked downstairs to the kitchen to put it back in the fridge, only to see little butter fingerprints all along the wall up the stairs. All I could do was laugh. Your little stinker sounds a lot like mine…doesn’t she?

  3. Oh, how funny! I’m pretty sure there is more butter than bread, but a great effort! She looks about the same way as my niece did the first time I let her put icing on the cupcakes. Proud as a peacock.

Leave a Reply

