Ten Things I Hate About Knitting

Anne and I were talking about this the other night, and she got herself motivated and blogged about it.  Thought I’d throw my hat in the ring–even though I love it, I can easily find ten things that I hate about knitting.

  1. Complicated cables (anything more than 4 stitches)
  2. The Black Hole/Time Suck (where you knit and knit and knit, but your project doesn’t grow)
  3. Finishing a row and realizing that I’m a stitch off
  4. Row counting
  5. Breaking a needle mid-project and not having another one
  6. Checking gauge (which is why I so rarely do it)
  7. Knitting so tight that it’s hard to move my stitches
  8. People who don’t appreciate hand-knit gifts
  9. Thumbs…I hate knitting thumbs….they’re too fiddly!
  10. Colorwork (it’s totally unnecessary…they make multi-colored yarn!)

Ahh…that felt good.

3 thoughts on “Ten Things I Hate About Knitting

  1. I love your Ten List. I hate those same things and knit to make me happy.

    The other item to add is someone asking you to knit an item from a store not realizing that they have to spend more to get the same item.

  2. At the moment, I just plain hate knitting. I have lost count of how many times I have had to stop the project that I just started and start over… not that it seemed to be growing any, anyway. I think I’m gonna go give my crochet hooks a big kiss.

Leave a Reply

