Sunshine in Yorkshire

When the sun shines in Yorkshire, all really does seem right with the world.

Yesterday we spent much of the day with my friend Anne and her husband, including a trip out to the base for  Burger King, time with the girls at the playground, tea in the back garden, and video games for the guys.  A great time was had by everyone, and I have to say it was the first weekend day that I didn’t long for my sister since we arrived home a few weeks ago.  I even did a handful of knitting, mostly on Marcus’ Christmas present.  Commonly known as Knitty’s Saranac, I lovingly call it the “Big Brown Blob.”

The Big Brown Blob (or, Saranac)

The Big Brown Blob (or, Saranac)

Today has been another great day, including continued sunshine on the Dales.  We went to church this morning, where I taught the Children’s Liturgy, and then stayed for brunch at the club.  We let the girls play on the playground afterwards, and returned home for a movie and rest on the couch.  The rest of the afternoon was spent playing outside, walking the neighbor’s puppy, playing with a friendly cat from the neighborhood, and again, knitting.  Today, though, I started a new sock using some of my much coveted Malabrigo Sock.  I’m working on Knitty’s Hedera (which I tried once before and abandoned in disgust) in the Velvet Grapes colorway.

Malabrigo Sock, Velvet Grapes

Malabrigo Sock, Velvet Grapes

All in all, the sun shining on Yorkshire, combined with a bustling weekend of family, friends, God, and community really does make the difference.

Oh, and the knitting.  Always the knitting.

5 thoughts on “Sunshine in Yorkshire

  1. Sounds like a wonderful day! 😀 Say, I’m getting the impression that you are affiliated in some way with Wake Forest University? My mom worked in the library there for many years before retiring about 2 years ago. I grew up in a suburb of Winston-Salem!

Leave a Reply

