Things I’ve Learned about Politics

I made the mistake of getting into a political conversation on Ravelry…my safe place.  What the heck was I thinking?

But, in fact, I’ve learned quite a bit and thought I should share!

1)  Whatever statistics you post, someone will have statistics pointing to the opposite.

2)  If people ask for your opinion, they don’t really want it.  They want to pick it apart and criticize it.

3)  Be careful when posting large quantities of information in one thread.  People like to pick and choose what they see you saying and blend it together into something that completely misses the point.

4)  No matter what you say, what you read, or how willing you are to learn and discuss, there are people who will always think that they are right and you are wrong.  Read what they post and still don’t change your mind?  They get downright nasty sometimes.

5)  I’m never talking politics again.  Seriously.

Well, at least I learned that much.

The thing is, I got involved in the conversation not to change anyone’s mind, but to make other people see my point of view.  They didn’t like that.

It’s funny to me, though, that some people who are so in favor of free thinking only want me to make up my own mind if I agree with them.

Ah, the irony of it all.

Back to knitting I go.

2 thoughts on “Things I’ve Learned about Politics

  1. Yeah. Same for talking politics at the office. Unless its an honest discussion with a friend, it’s not worth it. My closest friend is always on the opposite end of the spectrum from me, so we don’t get into any heated political debates – we just respect one another (and sometimes tease). The important thing is that we both VOTE!

  2. Sorry you had a bad experience in your safe place. Thank you for giving the rest of us a heads up on what you learned.

Leave a Reply

