Theme Songs

As we drove this morning to McDonald’s for some yummy breakfast (I’ve ended this vacation at a disgusting weight…dieting starts September 1st), we listened to the girls’ favorite songs.  These two songs have become our unofficial theme songs for this trip to the states, with good reason.

Song #1:  Rascal Flatts; Life is a Highway; Samantha’s Favorite

The title pretty much says it all.  We’ve driven all over seeing and doing this vacation, but we’ve had a great time doing it and wouldn’t change a second.  Plus, the girls like for me to crank up the volume and sing and dance along.  Can’t beat that, can you?

Song #2:  Rascal Flatts; Stand; Erica’s Favorite

For whatever reason, Erica has fallen in love with this song and wants to listen to it every time we get in the car.  I must admit to liking it to, but it wasn’t until this morning that I actually listened to the lyrics and smiled.

Cause when push comes to shove
You taste what you’re made of
You might bend, till you break
Cause it’s all you can take
On your knees you look up
Decide you’ve had enough
You get mad you get strong
Wipe your hands shake it off
Then you stand

It sort of reminds me of the journey that I’ve gone on this trip, which I wrote about some the other day.  And it made me smile.  It hasn’t been easy, but it’s been awesome.  And as we prepare to leave tomorrow (TOMORROW!), I realize that I’ve done it.  And I’m so proud of myself.

I guess the girls picked some pretty great theme songs for this trip.

 

3 thoughts on “Theme Songs

  1. Of course the girls have GREAT taste Kelly, they must know those Flatts are MY guys!! “Stand” is one of my favorites too. Funny, when I was catching up on blogs this morning, it came to mind as I was reading that blog entry. 🙂 Pretty amazing lyrics…..

    Safe travels tomorrow. We’ll catch up in person next year, I promise.

Leave a Reply

