A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words…?

I imagine that this is true, in theory.  But I bet that the author never had to sort through almost 400 pictures of a family of four vacationing for two glorious weeks in Tuscany.  More than anything, I wish I could post one picture to sum it all up, and everyone reading would look at it and say, “Ahh…I get it.”

But in reality, I bet you won’t really “get it” until you book yourself a ticket to Italy and experience it for yourself.

I could show you this one, the view of my wine glass from the window in our villa, located in a small mountainside hamlet in Chianti Country.

But that doesn’t show the family nature of the trip. I’d have to show my favorite picture of all–my girls and I playing in the fountain in Monteriggioni.

But of course, my husband is missing from that picture, so of course I’d need to show you the one of the four of us sitting at a restaurant, with Florence in the distance.  We took this picture together at one of the wedding events celebrating the marriage of our close friends Meg and Alex, the reason we went to Tuscany in the first place (Congratulations, and thanks Meg and Alex!)

The pictures of us give that bit of personality to our pictures, but what about some of the beautiful shots from around Tuscany that are imprinted in our minds now, forever?  How could I forget shots like this one, of Siena’s famous piazza, a few days before the bareback horse race that would take over the city?

But how can I show the city without showing the country, and the drive from our hamlet into nearby San Gusme?

If I stopped with family and city and countryscapes, you’d never see this incredible shot of the hailstorm we had one evening (that’s real hail in my husband’s palm).

I haven’t even mentioned the shots of Montepulciano (hands down our favorite part of the trip), Michaelangelo’s David, the girls swimming and eating pizza, how much wine we really drank (at least 13 bottles…one for each day we were in Tuscany), the great time we had with my sister-in-law, who was a real trooper when Kicka got to pinching, the drive up the mountain that had me close to vomiting every time, the game of Crazy Eights that went on for at least two hours, the five Disney movies that we watched religiously, and the way the sun shone on us every single day.

Sigh…perhaps a picture is worth a thousand words.  But not if you are trying to help your readers see Tuscany, your family, and the reason you returned home relaxed and calm.  I’m pretty impressed that I even attempted it with just 6 pictures.  I suspect you will get a few more here and there over the next week.  I’m not ready to be home from Italy just yet.

Ciao!

6 thoughts on “A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words…?

  1. It’s so good to see the pictures! I’ve been checking to see if you were back and I’m really glad you had fun. We miss you.

  2. Yes, I want to see every last one…..and socks….I KNOW there were socks. 🙂 Good to have you back!

Leave a Reply

