The Departed

My mom is officially gone.  She flew back to the States yesterday morning, and called this morning to let us know that she had arrived home safely (though without luggage).

It’s always hard when my mom leaves, or any visitors, really.  We say all the time that if we didn’t miss our family so much in the States, we could stay in Yorkshire forever.  It’s usually exacerbated by visitors.  When they leave, we remember how much we miss them, but when we haven’t had anyone here in awhile, we sometimes forget.

The few days after my mom leaves area always the hardest.

Today, though, it’s like Fr. Apollo knew just what we needed to hear at church.  We celebrated the mystery of the Holy Trinity today, and he talked a lot about the idea of unity.  Unity of our community, unity of our families, unity of three bodies and one God.  I think I needed this reminder that even though we are separated, we are still united and still a family.  And that this distance between us won’t last forever.

To help cope with mom’s departure, I’ve jumped right back into writing.  I hope to have a few articles ready for Associated Content this week, as well as a few for the Station Break on base.

I’ve also been knitting.  I wanted a relaxing knit, and went right for the sometimes overlooked Forest Canopy Shawl.  The progress has been slow, but it really is turning out beautifully.

Maybe the knitting and writing helps me feel unity, too.  United with the person I am knitting it for.  United with myself.  United with other knitters and writers.

I feel less alone.

I went shopping too, and that always helps!  🙂

3 thoughts on “The Departed

  1. I can’t believe I’ve come and gone already. The time seemed to fly by so quickly this trip. It’s always difficult for me to leave after a visit, and the first few days home are the hardest for me too. I’m glad that you went to church today and that the homily was so in key to what you needed to hear. You’re right, we must always remember that even though we are apart, we are stil united, we are still a family, and we will see each other again. I’m glad to hear that you are delving into your writing and knitting. I love my ipod cozy…and the socks you knitted for me while I was there are awesome. You truly are talented and gifted in so many ways. I want to thank you and Marcus for making my visit so special. The trip to Germany was amazing! I had such a good time, and we couldn’t have asked for better weather. I loved being there to celebrate Erica’s 2nd birthday. Yeah for “Tropical World”, presents, cake and ice cream! I’m already looking forward to July and your visit home. I miss you, love you and thank you all for a great time. Love, Mom

  2. I feel the same as you do, although in my case it is my sister I miss. I grew up as part of one large family – mother, father, siblings, cousins, etc. Summers were wonderful and holidays were spectacular. Then everyone grew up, as children do eventually, and we found our places in the world, marrying people who didn’t all want to stay in the same town. While I like progress, I often feel I’d be happiest living in times when people stayed more connected.

    But that doesn’t change reality. My sister comes for an extended visit every summer, mainly because we have one aging parent left. So it is a joy to have her near, to laugh over old memories and create new ones….and then she is gone and I feel like a piece of my history is walking out the door, although she is really only a phone call away. Of course, she has to deal with being away from our mother most of the year, just as you do…although I don’t know how often you see your mother.

  3. I’ll be thinking of you over the next few days. They truly are the most difficult.

    You are right on about the shopping though. It always seems to help 🙂

Leave a Reply

