Inspirational?

Within the past couple of months, I’ve had people friend me at Ravelry and write to let me know how inspirational I am–knitting so much in such a short time, knitting with two little girls around me, living overseas so far from family and friends, writing a book. Even how cute I look in my avatar picture!

Of course, I am quick to brush off their compliments. Quick to offer excuses.

I make time to knit, and often, my kids can be seen watching a Disney movie so that I can do so.

Living abroad hasn’t come naturally to me, and I’ve had hard times.

My knitting isn’t that great–look at all the mistakes!

My book probably won’t amount to much.

I don’t look that cute in real life. That’s just a remarkably good picture!

Excuses abound.

And it’s funny, because the other night my mom and I caught an episode of Sex and the City. Carrie was writing about how we are our own worse critics, and why it’s easier to believe the “bad reviews”? The Yarn Harlot has commented on the same phenomenon.

It’s just like this. Why am I quick to brush off compliments? Why is it that I find myself daunted by the idea that people might look at me and think I’ve got it together?

I think it’s because I’ve looked at others like that. Looked at friends or acquaintances and thought, “Man, she must know something I don’t.” Compared myself, and found myself lacking.

I don’t want anyone to compare themselves like that to me, because I know the truth about myself.

But I shouldn’t be so hard on myself.

I raise two beautiful, clever little girls. Who cares if they watch a Disney movie or two? And I’m a happier mommy because I do it.

Living abroad is an adventure many Americans would shy away from. Even if it hasn’t been perfect, I’ve done it, and taken advantage of all the opportunities at my fingertips. And we’ve loved it.

My knitting might not be perfect, but it’s pretty darned good. And I love it!

My book is amazing. It will be published.

I do so look that cute in real life.

Take that voices in my head. Maybe I’m inspirational, after all.

4 thoughts on “Inspirational?

  1. You are a great mom because you do it from the heart.

    If you didn’t live abroad I wouldn’t have met you and that would have been a great shame.

    Your knitting is fantastic – nothing daunts you and you totally get it.

    Haven’t read your book but I’m sure it is exactly as it should be.

    Cute doesn’t even begin to describe you – when I asked Dalesboy what he thought of the Nutty Knitters it was you he singled out by saying ‘she’s cute’ !!!!

    By being yourself you are all that you should be.

  2. What a great post! I just found you at the Yarn Harlot and you went straight into Bloglines, so expect to see me back. 🙂
    Oh – and you are cute and so are your girls!

  3. Samantha said it best.

    And to be honest? The best and most inspiring thing I can say about you is that you do all of the things you do with humor and while keeping your feet on the ground. You should definitely be proud!

  4. Awww!!! Good for you to realize that!
    We all have a tendency to be way too hard on ourselves; our flaws are magnified by the strong emotions about them and the bright shining successes are quickly drowned out.
    What a wonderful post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

