The Stash to Rule All Stashes

Many of my friends are taking a three month hiatus from buying yarn and all things knitting related. This so-called yarn diet is a push for simplicity–to realize that we really don’t need all of these things.

I laugh in the face of the yarn diet. OK, not really. I have incredible respect for my friends participating…I’m in awe of their willpower! But as a new knitter, I’m not ready to say good-bye to online shopping and all things knitting related just yet. And my parents both gave me birthday money, earmarked for some me spending. So, no yarn diet for me. Maybe next year at this time…

It started with WEBS, where I purchased my first two hanks of Malabrigo (which became my British Morning Evangelines, a Tudora, a Mug & French Press Jacket, and an Amanda Hat!) and the Cascade 220 for my Cardigan for Arwen. WEBS does have a huge selection, and their site is almost overwhelming in it’s vastness. My last purchase from them included enough of the Orchid to knit a big project, even though at the time I had no idea what that big project would be. Now we all know, however, that it’s destined to be a Wicked Pullover…if I can ever figure out that crossover rib!

But now I am in love with an online yarn store…my first online love affair with a website. Eat.Sleep.Knit is amazing, and I’ve placed two orders from them within the past two weeks. Not only do they offer free shipping if you spend $75, but they are currently having a Yarn Marathon…the Yarnathon! The goal is to run a marathon with each yard of yarn counting towards your goal. So of course, my first order just had to be big enough to help me reach the one mile marker! Look what I earned!

Here are some of the newest additions to my still growing yarn stash, courtesy of Erin at Eat.Sleep.Knit!

Dream in Color Smooshy Sock Yarn in Butter Peeps

Malabrigo Merino Worsted in Dusty

Malabrigo Laceweight in Olive

Malabrigo Merino Worsted in Olive

And that’s not all. I also have some Lorna’s Laces Shephard Sock on the way.

Oh, and the second order will have some Lorna’s Laces Worsted, Yarn Love Elizabeth Bennett, more Malabrigo Worsted, and my first hanks of Malabrigo Silky.

Yarn Diet? Shh…don’t tell on me!

And whatever you do, if you come to my house, do NOT open the chest in the living room. Seriously. The yarns included in this post are just the tip of the iceberg!

2 thoughts on “The Stash to Rule All Stashes

  1. I join you in scoffing at the yarn diet!!

    I haven’t bought anything from Eat, Sleep, Knit, but I am sure that they are in my future! I have to knit up my hokie hats first. My birthday is coming up and all I want is fiber…..

    Off to gaze longingly at the Malabrigo yet to be purchased.

  2. I think it’s important to develop a stash that you love and that inspires you! Only when it threatens to smother you in your sleep should you consider The Diet…
    You’ll love the Malabrigo Laceweight–it’s a dream to work with.

Leave a Reply

