This Too Shall Pass

My friend Creal keeps telling me, when talking about my daughter’s behavior, that this too shall pass.  Of course, she’s right.  Her son was probably a terrible toddler at some point, and is now almost a teenager, getting ready for middle school.  One day, that will be my Samantha.

Today, however, Samantha is still a terrible toddler.  In fact, yesterday she was a terrible toddler too.  Marcus came home from work early, and we planned to walk to a few shops and pick up sausage rolls for dinner (yummy!).  Samantha pitched a fit because Erica was sitting in “her seat” in the wagon.  And I mean, the child was absolutely hysterical, throwing things, hitting, and screaming at the top of her lungs.  Our neighbors, the parents of two slightly older children, were outside talking to us and commiserating.  Like Creal, they’ve been there, and reassured us that this stage won’t last forever, and that we’ve all been there.

Of course, one minute she’s hysterically crying, and the next she’s getting ready for bed and asking to say the Our Father.  We joke that if our oldest daughter wasn’t so adorable, and didn’t come back from these tantrums and turn into a little sweetheart, that we’d leave her outside indefinitely.

Thankfully, her tantrums do end.  She crawls into our bed at night, sometimes early in the morning, and asks if she can sleep with  us.  She tells us that she’s cold, and with her blankie in one arm, she curls up beside me and falls back asleep.  I love her smell.  I love how warm she feels curled up against me.  I love how vulnerable and sweet she seems at 3 o’clock in the morning.

Will this, too, pass?  I hope not.

Samantha, running from the waves over the summer 

6 thoughts on “This Too Shall Pass

  1. I can commiserate with you. My (almost!) 3 y.o.’s tantrums are awful — they come suddenly and then leave just as suddenly. It sounds strange, but I take great comfort in knowing that my child isn’t the only one who throws great fits. 🙂

  2. The good news is that the sweet stuff doesn’t pass. . . at least it hasn’t for my once terrible, now sweet boy, Brock.

  3. Stay strong!!! That is the toughest part! When they are throwing their tantrum, never let them see you waiver! It will then be sure to pass.

  4. Sweet article. You might be interested in a book I just co-authored along with Jennifer Brown, MSW, called “What Angry Kids Need: Parenting Your Angry Child Without Going Mad”. It is for parents of birth through 12 year olds, regardless of whether the child has a real “problem” with anger, or are just typically developing, which it sounds like your child is. Either way, there are things you can do (early!) as a parent to maximize your child’s ability to deal with intense feelings and be more emotionally intelligent in the long run. Good luck! (You can find the book on Amazon.com)

  5. Oh Kelly, its tough. Teenage tantrums replace toddler tantrums (and there is something in between) but its all worth it! My big boy has just returned from working a shift at Rudding Park & I fret about the snow & the state of the roads. When he goes off for his big adventure next winter & learns to be a ski instructor I shall be so proud but so in pieces when we leave him in France! Sam just thinks that this stuff is IMPORTANT & passion is good! Its like us & knitting!

Leave a Reply

