Obama Wins; What’s Next for McCain Supporters?

The election is over.  And I don’t mind saying, good riddance to bad rubbish.

I don’t mean McCain.  In fact, I was a McCain supporter (gasp…the horrors!).

What I do mean is the election.  I am so relieved that the election is over.  I think there was so much bad blood and mudslinging (not just by the candidates) that it has put a bad taste in my mouth over politics in general.

The important thing is what happens next.  Though I might not agree with most of Obama’s politics, I do believe that there needs to be a change in America.  And more than 50% of Americans believed that Barack Obama was the man to change it.  Who am I to argue with the majority?

So, there won’t be any, “Don’t Blame Me–I Voted McCain!” or “He’s Not MY President” bumper stickers on my car.  I’ll get rid of my pro-McCain ravatar at Ravelry, even.

The election is over.  It’s time to come together as a country now and move forward.  Barack Obama is going to be the next President of the United States.

I’m anxious to see what he does with it.  After all, he is my President.

9 thoughts on “Obama Wins; What’s Next for McCain Supporters?

  1. “Who am I to argue with the majority?”

    I am one for unity too in every area, but never doubt that what you believe to be right is not worth fighting for or arquing with the majority?

    When we look at history, there are some very good examples when going with the majority had atrocious and regrettable consequences.

    God bless you!

    ransom33 @ http://www.ransom33.wordpress.com

  2. I see what you are saying. My point was more that it’s not worth beating a dead horse now that the election is over. I can still fight for my beliefs, but I won’t be one of these people that cries sour grapes, you know?

  3. Fair enough! Crying never solved anything, although sometimes it does us good to let it all out and have a good moan.

    It helps me anyway.

    ransom33

  4. I know what you mean, Kelly. I too am a supporter of McCain. It saddens me that he will not get his opportunity to lead this country, as I am quite certain he would have been an excellent president. I do understand why others casted their votes for Obama. We do need a change and I am holding out hope that Obama will be an excellent president. Like you said, he will be OUR President, regardless of our political ties.

    Still a sad day for Nothing Fancy, the Republican.

    Oh well…Nothing Fancy, the optimist will prevail!

  5. As an Obama supporter I would like to offer you a warm hug, and let you know that I too hope that he will listen to and represent everyone in this country, not just those who elected him. And if that means more centrist policy, I can live with that. I changed my Ravatar too, blending red and blue to make a purple statement. We are Americans, and I hope any changes that come will be just as beneficial for you as for me.

  6. Yes, I agree that its time for the divisiveness and derision to end. He is now my president and I will support him completely. This does’nt mean I’ll be blind to the decisions he must make. It does’nt mean his first hundred days he can do as he pleases, then after that I’ll be on him like a dog on a bone. It means I’ll hope he sides with my take on things; but whether he does or does not, its obvious he’ll be methodical and pragmatic in his decision formulating process and consider all the consequences. When it does come time to make a decision, whether it turns out good or bad, once made, they will be my (our) decisions and I will back him while he’s our president, be it 4 or 8 years.

  7. What a difference from the way the liberal media and all the lefties acted after Bush won. Our country has suffered because of the outright hatred for our president for almost eight years. When the news media and popular culture promotes nothing but negativity about our country and our president it eventually leads to the sort of problems we’re experiencing now. I did not vote for Barack Obama but will support him until he gives me a real reason not to. I might even consider removing the anti-obama bumper stickers from my website http://www.rightbumpersticker.com. OK maybe a cheap plug for my site, but the difference in maturity of the right thinkers compared to the left is incredible.

Leave a Reply

